Alkali Collective Presents: SHIFT

    Alkali Collective will give the world premiere of unform for melodica, toy piano and piano a part of their concert, SHIFT at The Music Room. Other works on the program include pieces by inti figgis-vizueta, Brittany J. Green, Paige Halliwell, Yaz Lancsater, Bekah Simms and Cassie Wieland. This concert will be in-person as well as live-streamed.

    Featured on Score Follower

    Really excited to have threaded to be bound/unbound for solo double and electronics featured on ScoreFollower, performed by Adam Scime and commissioned by Caution Tape Sound Collective!

    Impulse New Music Festival

    Only edges is one of three winning pieces from Impulse New Music Festival's International Call for Scores. It will be performed at INMF's closing concert by pianist Aron Kallay through an online video broadcast. The program will also include the other two winning pieces by composers Anuj Bhutani and Jose E. Hernandez. Check out the streaming link above.

    TSO Commission: 100th Season Celebration Prelude

    Commissioned by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra to write a prelude for their 100th Season Celebration. The piece will be premiered on the Gimeno + Hannigan concert on May 19, 2022.

    Field Recordings

    I was able to get out of the city for a bit and captured some new sounds from this beautiful marshland. The place was filled with blackbirds, syncopated bird calls, gentle winds.


    USF New Music Consortium Concert

    The New Music Consortium at USF is proud to present our 2021 Call for Scores Concert, featuring the winning works from our 2021 International Call for Scores. Juhi Bansal's winning work "Wings" and Julia Mermelstein's winning work "threaded to be bound/unbound" will be presented alongside pieces by several other composers including Melody Chua, Jennifer Jolley, Seunghee Lee, and Augusta Read Thomas. The concert will be streamed online at 7pm EST.

    Guest on Modern Notebook

    Julia is a featured guest on WSMR's radio show, Modern Notebook, hosted by Tyler Kline at 8pm EST. An online streaming version will be available after the broadcast.

    Vancouver New Music: Adrian Verdejo

    Vancouver-based guitarist Adrian Verdejo performs an online full-length concert of works for solo guitar including Julia's Falling (into the unknown). The concert includes works by Wolf Edwards, Peter Hannan, Diego Lozano Verduzco, and Rodney Sharman. The concert will be available for streaming from Feb.20-28th.

    USF New Music Consortium Call for Scores Winner

    threaded to be bound/unbound was the winning electroacoustic work in USF New Music Consortium's 2021 International Call for Scores, chosen from over 400 submissions worldwide. The piece will be performed by Paul Lewis on their April 9 online concert.

    Featured on Esprit Orchestra's Soundbite Insights Series

    In this special episode of Esprit's ongoing Soundbite & Soundbite Insights series, Eugene Astapov sits down with Julia to talk about her artistic processes and philosophies, and what she is currently working on for Esprit. Her upcoming Esprit commission will be premiered as part of their New Wave Festival.